Climate change program guidance

Timeline 2015

The timeline depends on how you have been requested to respond to CDP.

  • Requested by investors only
    Companies receive the request in early February and must submit entirely by June 30.
  • Requested by both investors and customers (see supply chain program)
    Companies receive the investor request in early February, and the supply chain request in early April. The main questionnaire must be submitted by June 30 and supply chain module by July 31.
    Follow the step-by-step guide to submit both CDP climate change (investor) and supply Chain questionnaires. (forthcoming).

Questionnaire

The questionnaires are divided into several sections in order to fully understand the actions your company is undertaking to mitigate climate change risks.

Responder pack

This includes the questionnaire, drafting word document, main guidance, scoring methodology, roadmap, and ORS guidance

CDP's sector focus

Discover how CDP seeks to increase and tailor disclosure from companies in high impact sectors to gather insight into their environmental performance.
Read more »

 

 

Guidance on responding

Climate Change Guidance Document 2015 
This explains each question in detail and includes what information to provide, the required format, and where to find tools or further information to construct your answer. This document is free to download.

Guidance is also available in Portuguese and Spanish.

A printed version of the guidance document is also available.

Using the Online Response System (ORS)
How to activate, log in, and use the ORS, including common problems and solutions.
Watch a recorded webinar on using the ORS

Guidance for First Time Responders (forthcoming).
A document to help new responders submit information to CDP.

Climate Change Reporting Roadmap
A guide to help responders to move from a basic response towards complete disclosure.

Company Guidance on Carbon Action
Information for companies requested to respond to CDP's Carbon Action initiative.

Climate Change Drafting Document (zip).
This document is solely for the purpose of drafting a response to CDP's 2015 climate change questionnaire. Your final response to CDP must be entered via the CDP Online Response System (ORS).

CDP Amendments Policy
Please check your response before submitting. Read this page if you need to amend your respond after you have submitted

Changes Document for 2015
An outline of major changes in the climate change questionnaire, scoring, and guidance.

Responding Tips (forthcoming).
Top tips for responding to CDP

CDP climate change guidance 2014
(for reference only)

 

Scoring information

Scoring methodology 2015
also available as an excel worksheet (.zip)
Question-level information on disclosure and performance scoring methodology for the Climate Change questionnaire.

Score Categories
Explanation of the score feedback categories

Introduction to Climate Change Scoring
Webinar recording

How to use the Scoring Methodology
Webinar recording

Conflict of Interest Policy (forthcoming).

 

Scoring methodology 2014 (for reference only)​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Guidance webinars

  • How and why to disclose - first responders (Portuguese) 
    3rd March 2015
    10:00 São Paulo // 13:00 London register
  • Disclosure update for responding companies (Portuguese) 
    3rd March 2015
    14:00 São Paulo // 17:00 London register
  • How and why to disclose - first time responders (Italian) 
    12th March 2015 
    09:00 London // 10:00 Rome register
  • How and why to disclose - first time responders 
    18th March 2015 
    08:00 London // 09:00 Copenhagen Oslo Stockhom // 10:00 Helsinki register
  • How and why to disclose
    18th March 2015 
    08:00 London // 16:00 Beijing // 17:00 Tokyo // 19:00 Sydney register
  • How and why to disclose
    18th March 2015
    10:00 Mexico City // 12:00 New York // 16:00 London register
  • How and why to disclose 
    8th April 2015 
    08:00 London // 15:00 Beijing // 16:00 Tokyo // 17:00 Sydney register
  • How and why to disclose 
    8th April 2015 
    10:00 Mexico City // 11:00 New York // 16:00 London register
  • How and why to disclose
    29th April 2015
    08:00 London // 15:00 Beijing // 16:00 Tokyo // 17:00 Sydney register
  • How and why to disclose
    29th April 2015
    10:00 Mexico City // 11:00 New York // 16:00 London register
  • How and why to disclose
    20th May 2015
    08:00 London // 15:00 Beijing // 16:00 Tokyo // 17:00 Sydney register
  • How and why to disclose
    20th May 2015
    10:00 Mexico City // 11:00 New York // 16:00 London register
  • Late responders
    10th June 2015
    08:00 London // 15:00 Beijing // 16:00 Tokyo // 17:00 Sydney register
  • Late responders
    10th June 2015
    10:00 Mexico City // 11:00 New York // 16:00 London register

Recorded guidance webinars​

Introduction to Climate Change Disclosure Webinar | Download notes

Constructing Your Response Webinar | Download notes

Explaining the Terminology Webinar | Download notes

Risks and Opportunities Webinar | Download notes

Accounting, Boundaries and Scopes Webinar | Download notes​​​​​

Sector modules

Depending on your sector you may also be presented with a sector spec​ific module. It is also possible to opt in voluntarily at CC0.6.

Oil and Gas Questionnaire | Guidance | Drafting document

Electric Utilities Questionnaire | Guidance

Auto & Auto Component Manufacturer Questionnaire | Guidance

Information & Communications Technology Questionnaire | Guidance

Food, Beverage & Tobacco Questionnaire | Guidance

 

Technical notes

Download the Worksheet for Question CC7.4 (zip)
Conversion of Fuel Data to MWh
Fuel Definitions
Glossary of Terms
Retirement vs Cancellation of Instruments
Units of Measure Conversions
Special Conditions for Reporting Scope 1 Emissions
Country and Regions
Guidance for companies with coal reserves
Accounting of Scope 2 Emissions 2015

 

Verification guidance

Verification FAQs

Read about CDP's approach to verification

View verification standards accepted or rejected for CDP reporting

CDP Verification Template 2015 (forthcoming).

 

CDP Response Check

You can avoid mistakes in your response by using our Response Check service.

Our Response Check service picks up issues that may affect your score, or problems with the information you are presenting to your stakeholders. Find out more ».

Arrange your Response Check with our accredited consultancy partners by emailing responsecheck@cdp.net.

 

Alignment with other reporting initiatives

Linking up GRI and CDP
A document jointly produced by CDP and GRI to show the linkages between CDP's 2015 climate change questionnaire and GRI’s G4 guidelines to assist companies with their response.

Aligning the Dow Jones Sustainability Index with CDP
In 2013, RobecoSAM, the company behind the Dow Jones Sustainability Indices (DJSI), produced with S&P Dow Jones Indices, aligned its climate strategy questions with a subset of CDP’s climate change questions. The questions will remain aligned in 2015.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Further sources of help

CDP reporter services
CDP service partners
Contact us at respond@cdp.net.​​

  Join the CDP LinkedIn group Follow @cdp on Twitter          Subscribe to receive our monthly newsletter
  Connect with us          Newsletter
   
 
 
  © 2015 CDP Worldwide, Registered Charity no. 1122330.
A company limited by guarantee registered in England no. 05013650